Wolverine boys, girls cross country teams put exclamation point on 2017 season

Annual banquet honors seniors, letter winners, special team award recipients



The annual Mountain Lake Area (MLA) Wolverine boys and girls cross country banquet was held at Mountain Lake Christian on Sunday, November 5, just one day after the state meet closed the books on the 2017 season.

The boys team earned a berth to compete in the Minnesota State High School League (MSHSL) Class A Boys Cross Country Meet on Saturday, November 4, at Saint Olaf College in Northfield following a runner-up finish on Thursday, October 26, at the Section 3A Meet at Madison Golf Club in Madison.

Recognized at the banquet were the team’s seniors, letter winners and special team award recipients


SENIOR AWARDS. FRONT, from left, Phonesaveng “Bubba” Xayachak, Emmanuel Fentanez, Logan Pankonin and Nathan Runck. Back, from left, Jae Faber, Jorja Lepp and Madison “Maddie” Schroeder (Kim Blomgren photo)


WOLVERINE LETTER WINNERS. Front, from left, Alina Inthamthirath, Summer Janzen, Sara Quiring, Emma Stade, Elizabeth Linscheid and Jordan Wright. Middle, from left, Tiegan Meyer, Seth Klassen, Dima Hanson, Ryan Blomgren, Chloe Klassen, Kate Janzen, Anika Fast, Olivia Klassen and Riley Schroeder. Back, from left, Josiah Gardiner, Maddie Schroeder, Logan Pankonin, Jae Faber, Dalton Piotter, Jorja Lepp, Aura Spry, Phonesaveng “Bubba” Xayachak, Emmaunuel Fentanez and Nathan Runck. (Kim Blomgren photo)


SPECIAL TEAM AWARD recipients. Back-to-front, from left, Fans of the Year – Cary and Laurie Bartsch, Gusto! Award – Josiah Gardiner and Summer Janzen, Most Improved – Emmanuel Fentanez and Kate Janzen, Rookies of the Year – Dalton Piotter and Tiegan Meyer and Team Most Valuable – Nathan Runck and (missing) Mercedes Saengosoth. (Kim Blomgren photo)
Facebook Comments