New year begins; MLPS School Board reorganizes

Return slate of officers; Bucklin joins school government body




All returning Mountain Lake Public School (MLPS) School Board members – along with one of two new members elected to the school’s government body last November – took the Oath of Office during a reorganizational meeting held this evening (Monday, January 8), in Room #1 of the high school. The oath was delivered by School Board Chair Chad Pedersen.

Dave Bucklin returns to the board in 2018 after having previously served as a member in past years. Also new to the group is Audi Nickel, coming on for his first term. (Nickel was absent from tonight’s meeting).

Board members on hand returned last year’s full slate of officers by unanimous ballot.

Returning as board officers will be:

  • Chair – Chad Pedersen
  • Vice-Chair – Tom Fast
  • Clerk – Julie Brugman
  • Treasurer – Pam Hoek

Sitting board member, Matt Gohr, along with Bucklin and Nickel, are board directors.

Appointments and Committees

+ Assistant Treasurer – Brugman

+ Integration Committee – Hoek and Bucklin

+ Pairing Committee – Pedersen, Fast and Hoek

+ Negotiations Committee – Pedersen, Brugman and Gohr

+ Meet & Confer – Pedersen, Fast and Hoek

+ Safety Committee Representative – Bucklin

+ Minnesota State High School League Representative – Nickel

+ Community Education Representative – Hoek

In other business

+ Approved the following as official depositories of the MLPS School District:

  • United Prairie Bank
  • Triumph State Bank
  • Bank of the West
  • MSDLAF (Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund)

+ Designated the following as signatories for short-term investments for the school district:

  • MLPS School Board Treasurer Hoek
  • MLPS Superintendent Bill Strom
  • MLPS District Business Manager Kim Naas

+ Approved the following to perform the routine functions of MLPS School Board Clerk Brugman and MLPS School Board Treasurer Hoek for the district:

  • Superintendent Strom
  • Business Manager Nass
  • Designee as appointed by the superintendent

+ Approved the following to execute leases, purchases and contracts for the district:

  • Superintendent Strom
  • Business Manager Naas
  • Designee as appointed by the superintendent

+ The school board’s regular January meeting will be held on Tuesday, January 16, beginning at 5:30 p.m., in Room #1.

Facebook Comments